Picture
Alright, I admit it I have been a slack arse with my usual tightly scheduled posts. But in my defence I was out experiencing life and didn't want to dull the experiences at the time by stopping to write about them... (that's my story and that's what I'm going with).

So what have I been doing? Well a bit here and there with the kids, sorting out and wrapping all the Christmas presents to make sure I hadn't accidently missed anyone - which I had, so good thing I'm on the ball with the wrapping and what not.

We decided to get the Christmas tree out this year but with a two and a half year old I feel it is still fraught with danger. We didn't get it out last year because I was worried he would pull it over on himself but I really don't know if this year will be much different. We didn't even put decorations on the lower branches because, seriously, that's just asking for trouble. Regardless, he still keeps gravitating back to it like a moth to a flame - just looking for trouble. My kids and the kids from next door decorated it. It actually looks like they all just stood back and threw stuff at it but it's all good. That's what Christmas is about, sharing time with family and friends. It shouldn't have to be perfect, we don't live in a department store.

My husband doesn't go with that theory, he likes everything to be evenly spaced and colour co-ordinated - he doesn't actually do it, he just likes it to be that way. Well, I'm sorry but life is too short for that crap. He walked into the room to inspect the carnage.... I mean decorations, took a deep breath and said "So, you're happy with that?" to which I replied "Yep" and he said "You're happy with the spacing of everything and how it all looks?" again I go with  "Yep" and he walks away shaking his head.

I have a friend who used to work as a visual merchandiser at a department store and his tree always looked worthy of a Christmas catalogue with a perfectly dressed (and clean) little family sitting beneath it.  In fact the first year he was married, his wife and he set up their Christmas tree and she told me she had never known there were so many rules involved in tree decorating and she was certainly not aware that all the presents had to be colour co-ordinated as well! I might add that this was when their family was smaller, just the two of them. They have recently had a small, demanding, noisy little person come to live with them and I am keen to see if Christmas tree perfection is still on the top of their list of priorities.

Christmas decorations have been out now in full force since July (oh, OK I am exaggerating - but it's only a matter of time before that happens) but I refuse to put anything up in the house until the first of December so that we are at least on the downhill slide to the season of celebration and it feels more Christmassy. So we have a select few pieces out this year and depending on how successful this is we may put more out next year when grabby hands are not so, well, grabby.

Have you set your tree up yet? Are the kids involved in the process or are you like my friend and will only except Christmas tree perfection? I might also add in parting that it wasn't until I had children of my own that I understood why people put those ugly little handmade things on the tree and now that I have my own, they seem beautiful to me. Weird how being a parent changes your perspective so much.

Have you set up the decorations yet? How was your experience? Let me know, I promise I won't judge either way.... well only if you're really anal about it all and everything has to be perfect and then I may judge just a little.

Cheers,

Lee

Jackie
12/2/2012 07:23:10 pm

i too decorated my tree on sunday. well when i say i did really my kids did (girls 7 and 9). i was soooo tried i directed from the side lines with a glass of wine in my hand (always decorate the tree with bubbles). they had put up the tree with out adult supervision as i was at a baby shower. the branches were on odd angles and not spread out. i had to give up perfection so their wasnt any disagreement and just go with the flow. its not prefect but the kids love it the decorations are mostly down the bottom. your interior decorating friend wouldn't cope. it looks good especially under the influence of alcohol.

Reply
Lee
12/5/2012 11:55:08 am

Ahh that's what I forgot. The alcohol! But in truth the whole process was wrapped up so quick I wouldn't have had time to even get the bottle out of the fridge before it was all over!

Reply
12/3/2012 04:13:38 pm

This was my first year as a married woman and the husband and I decorated ours for the first time together cannot wait until we have little ones to do it with as well. I think your tree looks fabulous star on top, tinsel and baubles what else is there to it? xx

Reply
Lee
12/3/2012 04:28:05 pm

Thanks! I used to be so much more beautiful BK (before kids) but I think it so much more special now.

Reply
12/3/2012 04:54:22 pm

We put our tree up on Sunday, (December 2nd).
This year we have put the playpen round it and the tree is sitting on a coffee table so that we can fit the presents under it and in the play pen. I have 21 month old twins. This year they helped decorate by passing me the balls to hang, and daddy lifted them up holding the star for a photo. I did the rest.
Last year we put the tree up on top of our dining table. It worked wonderfully, even though it seriously only just fit, the top was touching the roof.
I haven't felt very Christmassy the last few years. Not until the day or so before. But this year I am feeling it already and I couldn't wait to put up our tree. And yes I, (the twins) made some tacky ornaments to hang on it :-) I agree about hating them before I had my own kiddies.

Reply
Lee
12/5/2012 12:05:41 pm

How beautiful. I'll bet you always remember that. I know what you mean, I have been a bit the same over the last few years especially with a non santa believing 9 year old. It has really just been about the presents. With a two and a half year old this year I have been able to see it and experience it all with fresh eyes.... and its magic.

Reply
12/3/2012 05:41:32 pm

I love your way with words! Ah, love me a smug pre-parent! I was one too! Although, I have never had a department store worthy tree (or a clean child for that fact!)

Reply
Lee
12/5/2012 12:03:44 pm

Thanks for the love. I know what you mean - and the sad thing is you don't even know your a smug pre-parent until you're on the other side and it's too late then!

Reply
12/3/2012 06:00:42 pm

Our youngest is 2 and the tree at first was very exciting, I lost count of the number of times I had to rehang the lower baubles. But after 2 days he seems mostly over the whole thing already.

The older 3 helped hang all of the decorations, but I did the tinsel so it was at least a little bit even. Normally I go with just silver and blue, with white lights. This year we have coloured lights! Big deal for me, even tonight I thought about re-doing the whole thing to take those lights off. Must resist...

Reply
Lee
12/5/2012 12:02:33 pm

Try to resist. We have gone past the tree now and are having problems with random decorations around the house. Is a giant decorative non edible hollow candy cane, is a giant trumpet to blast around the house, is it a giant handy hook to pull high stuff down with or is it a handy bat with which to bop ones brother- it appears it is all of these things.

Reply
12/3/2012 06:23:45 pm

When my wife and I first moved in together we had a "piss weak" Christmas house warming where our firends had to turn up with a decoration that they made themselves. We still put a few of them on the tree today.

Reply
Lee
12/5/2012 11:56:59 am

I'll bet the decorations are not as beautiful as the store bought but so much more special. Anyone can just buy them! That's an awesome idea!

Reply
12/3/2012 06:26:55 pm

We made a tree out of branches this year. It's earthy, and best of all above the reach of our 10 month old crawler climber.
Merry Christmas!
(visiting from IBOT) x

Reply
Lee
12/5/2012 11:57:45 am

I would love to see some pictures of this - I have a mental image but I have a feeling it's not actually anything like that!

Reply
12/3/2012 07:55:19 pm

I was in the same boat as you - and many parents - with a toddler in the house I really wondered whether it was worth bothering. But we did and he has indeed pulled it on himself already, but there wasn't much harm done. I left all the better quality decorations in their boxes this year though!

Reply
Lee
12/5/2012 12:06:59 pm

I know its bad but the mental image of that had me laughing out loud. Kids hey! I didnt even contemplate getting anything good out this year.

Reply
12/4/2012 12:40:06 pm

My sister was a Christmas tree perfectionist, but honestly I couldn't work out how her tree was ever any better than mine!
I like a bit of order, but also like the kids being involved. I just let it be done, and then over the coming days reposition things if I think it's glaringly obvious that they are not matchy.
Can't come at coordinated wrapping paper though. I just want loads of colour!

Reply
Lee
12/5/2012 11:59:39 am

I don't know how I came to be this person, but I don't even care if they match or there are spaces or whatever anymore. The fact the kids got so much delight in putting them up is what I think about each time I look at the tree and the imperfections actually remind me of this and why not to fix it.

Reply



Leave a Reply.