Picture
The body is an amazing thing. It gets us to where we want to go, it can create another life but it's not until it is broken that we really appreciate it for what it is. I have spent so much time wishing I looked like someone else and the really hard thing to swallow is the older I get the more I realise how much I should have liked what I already had in the first place. 

Well, here's the thing. I disclosed this in a blog post not so long ago but just in case you missed it, I just turned 42. Yep 42. It's funny that when you're young everyone over 30 looks ancient but when you get to 40 - you think everyone who is 40 is practically a babe in the woods and even 60 isn't looking that old. Well, it seems that looking fabulous has now come in a dismal second to remaining healthy and I'm not even doing a great job as that. 

It appeared that I turned 40 and everything turned to shit. I know that sounds a little over dramatic, so I will expand on that.  I try to be healthy, I work out, I try to eat right (yes, I know I love a good cake... but who doesn't!?) and in general I try to look after myself but it seems that this has made no real difference. It's looking like 40 is the tipping point whether you looked after yourself or not. Once I turned 40 I got plantar faciitis - in a nutshell - it is a painful throbbing under my foot near the heal which some days is so bad I have to limp. Off to the gym to do my step and attack classes with booming music and some fast paced cardio - I think not. Once you start yapping to people about having it, you'll be surprised by the sheer number of people out there suffering with it and the really exciting thing about it (not), is that once you have it you always have it. So it is likely to reoccur even once it's sorted - you just don't know when (Yay - a surprise).

I know what you are thinking, boo hoo, get over yourself - but I am sad to say it has really affected my life. Another great joy of hitting 40 is that it becomes so much easier to put on weight and harder to get it off. So my usual routine of slogging it out at the gym to sort all that out has now been put to a stop as well. Far out! It's coming at me from all sides.

Not to be deterred and doing my best to continue to care for this body, I took myself off to a naturopath to help with the fact that I was feeling a little over it all and was pretty much tired all the time (well, tired and angry actually but we will just stick with tired at the moment). He recommended a number of tests to check my levels were all where they should be. Surprisingly my vitamin D level was great (which is funny as I don't ever stand in direct sun light and pretty much run from one shady spot to the next) and my iron was excellent. But - and here's one I didn't see coming, I have high cholesterol. What?! It turns out you don't have to be overweight to suffer from it (that's a myth).

I don't know what my next move is going to be other than cutting back on the cakes and biscuits (talk about sucking the joy out of my life) but I know what the next thing I will be researching online is going to be.

Have you just hit a milestone with your age? I hope your handling it better than I appear to be... let me know.

Cheers,

Lee



2/3/2013 04:29:32 pm

Hi Lee I hear you everything for me went down hill the year I turned 40 as well! I went from being pretty fit running on my treadmill to breaking my ankle and being in a cast for 8 weeks and its nearly been a year and my ankle is still sore. I also retrenched from my part time job that has never happened to me in my life! Talk about being kicked while you are down. I have spent time on my blog (which I started when I broke my ankle as something to do) and have felt very lost and over the hill really. Well I am now 41 and a month into 2013 and I think I have finally found my new direction and passion. I am going back to study full time to get new qualifications in a more fulfilling career in education. I have grown in so many ways as a woman and learned to let go of some of the superficial crap I used to believe. So Lee for a long time I thought my time was over and that it was all downhill but now I see I just needed to clear out all the baggage I was holding onto. Soon it will be clear!

Reply
Lee
2/3/2013 04:38:24 pm

Thanks Glamamuma - very very nice to know it aint just me! I know there is more - I just don't know what it is yet!

Reply
www
2/3/2013 08:07:48 pm

Yep... I am hearing you have always had bad cholesteral runs in the family, so need to always keep an eye on what I eat. I also have bad knees that need replacing and i keep maintaining with fish oil and accupunture every fortnight until I am unable to take the pain anymore. A monthly chiro appt to keep my back in a reasonable condition, irritable bowel that needs daily medication and a proper diet can play up at any time... add two recent injuries of a bung shoulder/neck problem that I get constant physio on and a lower
back issue caused by my attempt of doing aerial yoga where the mind said yes and the body said no... this about sums it up... but stay tuned i am sure it will get worst as I get older :P

Reply
2/7/2013 12:57:25 pm

I know what you mean about age - I'm in my early 30's and once upon a time I swore that was positively ancient!

Reply
2/7/2013 03:55:46 pm

I am also 42. My problems began in my late 20's with health issues. I now know the cause (food chemical intolerance) but am still struggling with it.
Age to me has never been a problem as long as I feel good. That has not been the case.
I'm hoping that during my 40's is where I get past it all and in stead of going to shit, I am going to live :)
Becc @ Take Charge Now via #FYBF

Reply
Lee
2/7/2013 05:41:34 pm

Goodluck - I hope you do improve with age!

Reply
2/7/2013 07:00:23 pm

Oh, wow! I never would've related a throbbing pain under a foot to high cholesterol!
I'm turning 42 this year and I'm planning to do a half-marathon as well as the City2Surf. I refuse to believe my body's going bung. Yes, I do suffer from denial!

Reply
Lee
2/8/2013 05:33:53 pm

Oh no Grace, the throbbing foot had nothing to do with the high cholesterol - it's just another random thing that turned up! I was living in denial as well .... I like denial. But these latest injuries have given me no choice - and I was really looking after myself. Good luck in the City2Surf. I have done it twice and really enjoyed the whole experience!!

Reply
2/7/2013 07:16:15 pm

Yep could really relate to this post. When I hit 40, was running going to the gym then turned 40 and suffered from plantar fasciitis and was hobbling around. I ended up going to a podiatrist who made inserts for my shoes and managed my foot problem so I no longer have any issues. He also told me it was a common problem for individuals 40 plus, and now that I was older I had to look after my feet. This was followed up by my GP saying now you are 40 you need regular blood test to check cholesterol, diabetes and a general screen. It was a downer of a time, but I quickly bounced back by age 41 and make an effort to manage my health, and loving life.

Reply
Lee
2/8/2013 05:36:26 pm

Thanks Fran for the positivity. I have just started with the inserts for my shoes. Fingers crossed that this sorts out my issue!! All of this is a bit of a surprise when you feel fit and healthy and these issues rear up after the 40 mark. Not nice and I did not see it coming!!

Reply
2/8/2013 06:15:27 am

I'm almost 4 weeks off tuning 47 and it sucks. Joints ache, after being slim all my life my middle is growing alarmingly and for the first time I've got to watch what I eat because I was also told I have high cholesterol. A sprained ankle last year has never healed properly either. But apart from all that, I'm not plagued by self doubt all the time anymore and I don't care what people think of me (particularly when I'm singing to myself in the supermarket). As long as I can still dance all night and walk my dog the next day, I'll accept those grey hairs gladly.

Reply
Lee
2/8/2013 05:41:47 pm

Good for your Becci. A naturopath recently recommended cinnamon tablets for the thicking around the middle. Supposed to speed up your metabolism - don't know if it works yet but I can only try!

Reply
2/8/2013 01:06:10 pm

I can relate!! I am pretty fit and strong but I seem to always have little injuries or 'niggles'. *sigh*

Reply
2/9/2013 10:12:10 am

I'm in the 42 club as well this year and I feel pretty OK with it. You're so right about the keeping the weight off stuff, but I figure if I go to the gym and eat well (read: not perfectly) then at least I'll be healthy. Plus 42 is THE MEANING OF LIFE so I figure it's this year we work out all kinds of shit - health-wise, lifestyle wise, career-wise. I think it'll be a pretty big year for us. Kx

Reply
Lee
2/9/2013 11:17:09 am

The meaning of life! Can't believe I had forgotten that. Well - there is the silver lining!

Reply
2/24/2013 01:04:26 pm

Hi Lee. I am also 42 and almost ready to board the 43 train *shudder*. I have always felt very well so imagine my surprise at being diagnosed Coeliac at 39! The only reason I was being tested was because my little girl was very sick and was diagnosed with Coeliac Disease after displaying all the classic symptoms. Wow! It hit me like a wet fish to the face. I am still in denial a little bit.. but hey, we still have a sense of humour right?

Reply
Lee
2/24/2013 04:49:21 pm

I know exactly what you are saying - you'd think by getting that far and being ok - you'd be well... ok. It is surprising to have these issues come up!

Reply



Leave a Reply.