PictureWheatbix 'n' Milk Chocolate Slice
I am a changed woman and I have converted. I never ever thought that this would happen to me... I mean I wasn't even that interested before this took over my life and now that it has happened I can't stop talking about it. Not in the sense that I may turn up at your door at random with a book under my arm trying to convert you but I have been doing a lot of talking about it.

So what is it you may ask? You may even be wondering what has been happening to me lately .. or not. You may have been quite happily rolling along with your life and not given me a thought... but since you asked. I'll tell you what I have been up to.

I've quit sugar. I never ever saw it coming... I mean I don't think I've ever met a cake I didn't like so whenever people talked about giving it up, I would say, "I know it's not great for me ... but I really like it".

I believe that I have to place the blame on a friend of mine, who came to stay (for a week but stayed two) and had given up sugar. She talked about how good she was feeling and the changes she had made. She slowly but surely got into my conscious about it and then made very small, subtle changes to my diet - and I found they actually worked for me.

I am a few months in now, a few kilos lighter and feel more toned and "compact" ( I can't think of a better way to describe it) than I have after years of hitting the gym. By sugar I am referring to table sugar which is laden with fructose which our body converts to fat - don't take my word for it read Sarah Wilsons, I Quit Sugar - which talks a lot more about it.

I know what you are thinking ... "but all my favourite stuff is made with sugar" or "I don't eat that much sugar anyway". To answer both of these I say, there are substitutes and secondly you would be surprised how much sugar is in stuff you consume every day, so you could be eating heaps more sugar than you believe without even knowing it!

I am going to be sharing with you the results from recipes I have been testing at home over coming posts, a number of them have been lunch box friendly because I was sick of sending a lunch box full of processed crap, a sandwich and an apple off to school only to find the sandwich and apple still left in the lunchbox at the end of the day.

Before I sign off today, I have to say that quitting sugar was much easier than I ever thought it was going to be and I am rarely ever starving hungry. My blood sugar used to drop so fast mid morning I could pass out but that doesn't happen anymore. The only thing I have missed is chocolate so you would not believe how delighted I was when Sarah Wilson brought out a new book on just that topic. I Quit Sugar - Chocolate ebook. The yummy looking slice at the top of the page was my first foray into creating my own chocolate treats.

Drop me a comment if you have any questions or you have given up sugar and want to chat about that or anything else.

Cheers,

Lee



5/23/2013 08:54:12 pm

OMG! This post is perfect timing for me as I've just declared to the world I'm giving up sugar. You've given me hope that it can be done. Better get onto that Sarah Wilson book pronto!

Reply
5/24/2013 09:55:36 pm

Glad I could help! Good luck with it and I would love to know how you go!

Reply
5/23/2013 10:17:47 pm

Great post. I've been doing Sarah Wilson's program for almost 8 weeks. I have had a couple of slip ups - but I've been treating it like an experiment (as she does) and getting used to it gradually. I haven't lost loads of weight or anything, but I definitely have more energy! I look forward to reading your recipe trials!

Reply
5/24/2013 09:50:43 pm

Great work!! My weight loss with it has been really slow but it happened and I also used to get a lot of headaches which doesn't seem to be happening anymore which is awesome! So, there a whole heap of benefits. I have to say that I have also been reading a lot of David Gillespie's work and his recipes are really easy to follow, that has also helped. Good luck with it. : )

Reply
5/25/2013 07:50:00 pm

I think quite possibly my body is addicted to sugar. When is the best time to give up? Maybe not PMS time? GO YOU btw :) Emily

Reply
5/26/2013 12:27:28 pm

It sounds like it is definitely working for you!
I do not have sugar most of the time, but on my one day off, I do admit to devouring a Lindt chocolate or two. I've never been a sweet tooth, more savoury, but since my food chemical intolerances took away my favourite savoury treats, I did find Lindt.
All in all though, I try as much as possible to stay away from sugar. As you say, it does definitely make you feel so much better and is 1000% healthier for your body and mind :)
Becc @ Take Charge Now

Reply



Leave a Reply.