I know that it is sometimes hard to look at life from the perspective of glass half full. Maybe your clothes have all shrunk or you haven't had alone time in what feels like forever, or you can't remember the last time you didn't have to fight someone off so you could actually finish all the food on your own plate. You head out on some appointment or errand and you see so many people rushing about in their uniforms or with their brief cases and they move with such purpose and you wonder what you're doing with your life...... and then it happens. You see your child chasing a bubble or eating a chip or running to give you a hug and they are filled with so much joy from this tiny, inconsequential thing.

What happens to our joy as we get older??  How do we become so jaded and oh so bored by everything? Well, I know that I for one would love to get some of that joy back, so I am making a vow to notice those small opportunities for joy from now on. And when I see that wonderful moment in a child's life,I will be there. If only just for a few glorious seconds, in that moment of joy with them.

Cheers,

Lee
6/29/2012 12:32:57 pm

Great post Lee :) I think I'm gaining on the joy scale as the years tick by. My drive to work is the perfect example - there are so many reasons to hate it (it's 45 minutes each way on a road full of potholes) but I love the countryside, the hills and the beautiful sunrises that entertain me on the way. Hope that your weekend is full of 'joyful' moments with the little ones (and not to many where the joy is buried beneath sticky fingers, dirty clothes and piles of paperwork!)

Reply
Lee
6/29/2012 03:29:43 pm

Thanks Gill. That drive does sound like it has some lovely moments. Must be nice as well to have that space for yourself, with time to listen to the radio or just think about things. I also hope that your weekend is just as lovely.

Reply



Leave a Reply.