Being very stylish as I am (OK, so I'm not - but one can only try) I wanted to share with you a tip I came across very recently for posing as a yummy mummy (who can afford the time and upkeep of actually being one).

This tip requires medium to long hair, a brush, a hair tie, some bobby pins and a sock.
Yep, you read it right, a sock.

I came across this tip for the sock bun the other day on pinterest.com (if you are not on pinterest, you are seriously missing out) and then I watched some videos on you tube (so I can't actually attribute one person as my source for this). I have put together a couple of images to show you how easy it is to go from "just got home from the gym and can't be bothered washing and drying my hair" to " going out to lunch or to the school pickup or whatever and feeling a little fabulous".

As mentioned the first thing you will need is a sock. Choose one a similar tone to your own hair colour (i.e. if you have dark hair choose a dark sock) it doesn't have to be a perfect match and cut the end (where your toes would normally sit) off.
Picture
This was my sons sock - there was only one. It had no mate. It went to sock heaven .... I don't know where that is but a lot of my socks seem to have gone there. Just single ones though....



Roll the sock down on itself, like a sock scrunchie - it looks kind of like a sock donut.




Now this last bit was too hard to photograph and do at the same time so I just have to use words and then show you the finished look (I am a very visual person and like images myself, so type sock bun into youtube if my instructions aren't cutting it for you).

Brush your hair into a high ponytail using an elastic hair tie. Then slide just the end of your ponytail into the sock donut. Roll the tips of your hair over the donut to sort of cover it with hair and tuck the ends back into hole of the donut from underneath. You are effectively rolling your hair over and into the donut.  Then just keep rolling the donut down the length of your ponytail  while tucking the hair inside the donut as you go.

When you get to the base of the ponytail (your head) you can pin it into place for extra hold.

You might ask why you should bother with the whole sock shenanigan and not just whip your hair up into a regular bun, so I have included a before and after shot to demonstrate the difference.
Picture
BEFORE - with my going to the gym bun
Picture
AFTER - with my glamorous new do.
You could add a flowery clip for some extra glamour and a swipe of lippy.



You should be good to go then glamour puss. 


That's all, I just wanted so share this with you. You can actually buy hair donuts from the shops but I thought it was nice to be able to feel a bit special with stuff I already had lying around the house.

I would love to hear any cheap and easy tips for looking fabulous you would like to share.

Cheers,

Lee
11/6/2012 02:47:51 pm

I also love this trick. It also produces the most natural looking curls when you unroll your hair from the sock :)

Reply
Lee
11/6/2012 02:49:39 pm

oooh, another good tip. Thanks Serenely

Reply
11/8/2012 02:53:53 pm

I would so love to try this but my hair is not even close to long enough, looks great

Reply
11/8/2012 06:11:50 pm

Oh how clever ! I am in the process of growing my hair (again) so when its long enough, I shall give this idea a whirl.
Found you via FYBF

Reply
Lee
11/8/2012 07:11:17 pm

Thanks for dropping by.

Reply
11/8/2012 09:18:55 pm

This right here is the reason I am growing my hair long! (albeit VERY slowly) I want to start playing again! And this idea is awesome! I have seen it done with a foam doughnut shaped thing- but a sock is even easier. Love the colour of your hair BTW :)

Reply
11/9/2012 04:16:24 pm

Oh that looks awesome! Really must try this. I have plenty of old random socks around the place. :)

Reply
11/11/2012 10:51:19 pm

I like your blog. you sound a lot like me. I have been trying to make and sell soap from home. I have a balconey with a beautiful health food stote acrossed from it. I love lemons and lavendar. Maybe you will check out my blog sometime. freshnewblog.wordpress.com.

Reply
2/3/2013 09:25:20 am

I am SO trying this... and there are a zillion single socks to chop up, at last a use for them!

Reply
Lee
2/3/2013 11:31:44 am

Excellent Seana - Glad I could help!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.